Forrest View


Please click on the links below to find an overview of the school's curriculum for the past three academic years. If you would like to find out more information about the school's curriculum then please email: or contact the school office from our contact us page.

Individual class overview's can be found by going to the class section of the website.


Forest View's curriculum enables children to:


o    enjoy school and want to learn;

o    attain the highest academic standards;

o    become independent learners;

o    develop skills and knowledge needed to develop individual talents, be they creative, scientific, technological, spiritual, sporting or social;

o    understand their own feelings and begin to make life decisions that reflect their increasing confidence; and

o    understand that everyone has equal rights to access learning opportunities.


The school's curriculum has been built around the school's local community and meets the requirements of the National Curriculum 2014 which is taught through whole school topics. Forest View offers a broad and balanced curriculum which builds on the skills and knowledge of each individual pupil regardless of their starting points as they progress through each key stage. These provide children with purposeful learning activities which are designed to excite and engage children in their learning. The school upholds the British Values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, mutual respect and tolerance of those from different beliefs and faiths through all that it does and teaches children to respect each other. At the heart of Forest View's curriculum are the schools key values of honesty, tolerance, cooperation, kindness, invention, courage and determination. These values are taught and celebrated across the school year and as a resul the school aims for every child to leave fully prepared for their next stage in education and to have the skills to tackle any problem that they may face through life.


Whole school topics are used through which children learn and develop key skills and are taught the requirements of the national curriculum. The key learning areas within each subject are completed on a rolling programme. This ensures that all children have completed all elements of the national curriculum by the time they leave each key stage, making sure that they are fully ready for the next stage in their education.


In EYFS the school uses the Development Matters Early Learning Goals to assess children's ability. By the end of the first half of the Autumn term all EYFS children would have been baselined to the criteria laid out in development matters across all 17 areas of learning. This enables the school to develop an accurate picture of the ability of each child in each cohort so that a child's early (and future) learning is personnal to them. This makes sure that children are taught in the correct groups for phonics and reading and are able to access speech and language programmes if appropriate. During EYFS children are assessed to the Early Learning Goals in the middle of the year and again at the end. However, like in all year groups across the school children are constantly being assessed by staff and learning tasks adapted to meet their needs.


Many pupils enter year 1 still working on the Early Learning Goals and during the first half of the Autumn term all children progress onto the national curriculum so that by the end of November all children are ready to be baseline assessed to the early requirements of the national curriculum in maths and English. Phonics, reading and speeech and langauge programmes continue so that their reading fluency and phonic knowledge is built upon during each year group across the key stage.


Across Key Stage 2 the skills and aquisition of the curriculum is developed and built upon further so that children leave year 6 fully prepared for the next stage in their educattonal journey. Children continue to be assessed regularly with formal assessments being undertaken 3 times a year. However, like in EYFS and KS1 assessment is an ongoing tool which enables school staff to adapt learning tasks so that they meet the needs of each individual pupil so that they are able to make progress from their starting points.


The school uses a number of reading schemes throughout the school. The main whole school scheme is Project X (published by Oxford University Press). This is split into three main schemes: Project X Origins, Project X Alien Adventures and Project X Phonics. To support this the school uses Project X Code for intervention programmes. Overviews of these reading schemes can be seen by clicking on the links below.


The children at Forest View Primary School take part in high-quality phonics or spelling sessions. They are assessed regularly to check their progress and are then grouped accordingly. We teach phonics using the Ruth Miskin Literacy Programme ‘Read Write Inc’ (which builds into the KS2 Read Write Inc spelling scheme). This programme teaches children to decode words phonetically by introducing them to different phonemes (sounds) step by step. The children begin with set 1 sounds and as they learn their sounds they also learn to blend them to read words. As the children progress they are introduced to more unfamiliar sounds and alternative spellings, known as set 2 and set 3 sounds. The course structure can be found below.